Ideas That
to stimulate public discourse

People That Matter

Jane Jacobs Prize Recipients

The Jane Jacobs Prize is funded by the Avana Capital Corporation and includes an annual stipend of $5,000 for three years, to be used as the recipients choose. In addition, prize recipients are invited to meet together to discuss their experiences and knowledge of what makes this city work.

The Jane Jacobs Prize was announced in 1997 at the end of a five-day international celebration called Jane Jacobs: Ideas that Matter. Hundreds of the world's most prominent thinkers and community leaders attended the Toronto event to exchange ideas and celebrate Jacobs' work. The prize was created to build on the spirit of that gathering.

In 2014, Spacing magazine took over the administration of the award. A committee comprised of Ideas that Matter advisory members makes the final selection.

Winners to 2010
Jane Jacobs Prize winners, past and present

2014 Recipients

Graeme Stewart and Sabina Ali

2010 Recipients

Catherine Nasmith and Spacing Magazine

2009 Recipient

Derek Ballantyne

2008 Recipient

Nick Saul

2006 Recipient

Roberto Martella

2005 Recipient

Steve Munro

2004 Recipient

John van Nostrand

2003 Recipients

Margaret Zeidler and Uzma Shakir

2002 Recipients

Amanuel Melles and Mel Greif

2001 Recipients

Jutta Mason and David Walsh

2000 Recipients

Rollo Myers and Iria Vieira (deceased)

1999 Recipients

Mary-Lou Morgan and Dan Yashinsky

Ideas That Matter 170 Bloor St. W. Suite 804 Toronto, Ontario Canada M5S 1T9 416-944-1101 Email